Piece for 8 dancers

[ Cancelled ] We wear our wheels with pride and slap your streets with color… (working title)

Moving Into Dance Mophatong Company / Robyn Orlin

Creation 2020 / Belgian Premiere

Conception, chorégraphie : Robyn Orlin
Danseurs – Moving Into Dance Mophatong : Muzi Shili, Sunnyboy Motau, Teboho Letele, Oscar Buthelezi, Eugene Mashiane, Sussera Olyn, Otsile Masemola, Lesego Dihemo
Assistant du directeur artistique MIDM : Teboho Letele
Directeur de la compagnie MIDM : Muzi Shili
Création vidéos : Eric Perroys
Création costumes : Birgit Neppl
Création lumières : Romain de Lagarde
Régisseur de tournée : Denis Hutchinson
Régisseur général : Thabo Pule
Administration, diffusion : Damien Valette
Coordination : Louise Bailly

Production : City Theater & Dance Group, MIDM – Moving Into Dance Mophatong, Damien Valette Prod
Coproduction : Charleroi danse, Montpellier Danse 2020, Tanz im August, Chaillot – Théâtre national de la Danse, Théâtre Garonne – Scène européenne, Le Grand T – Théâtre de Loire-Atlantique (en cours)

Une co-présentation L’Ancre et Charleroi danse

Born in South Africa, Robyn Orlin still vividly remembers the time of apartheid.
Her memories include Durban’s rickshaws, the small handcarts pulled by black people and carrying whites. What struck her at the time was not so much seeing the exploitation of man by man in its harshest light, but rather the dignity of these rickshaw pullers dressed in costumes whose elegance and beauty were evidence of their creativity and desire to resist humiliation. Bedecked with feathers, stones, pearls and bovid horns on their heads, through their dress they subverted the dehumanisation to which they were subject. She says that when they ran, these workers “seemed to dance, their bodies hanging aloft”. By sharing her memories with a young generation of dancers from South Africa, Robyn Orlin brings to the stage a battle for dignity and equality, showing that, then as now, it can be waged in art and creative self-expression.

Fri. 13.11.2020
Charleroi - Les Écuries